top of page

Working At M&S


Working at Marks And Spencer is a massive experience where no day is the same.

Each task you take on is different and each individual staff member or team your working with are the nicest and most welcoming people I've met.

From completing my work experience with them for four weeks alongside my university course to getting a fix term job to a permanent job with them is an achievement I won't forget. It has also given me a step closer in the career I want and it puts my foot onto the industry ladder and experience it hand on in the real world.

I have learned a ton in my first few months with M&S. From starting at the bottom, with following the team around and doing all the ironing to being left to mange the whole floor from a visual point of view and creating windows.

Even though I only work on Home and Menswear departments I have gained many skills to take into other departments, stores and jobs.

So a visual merchandiser and a stylist at Marks And Spencer, really just looks after the store visually, so this means looking after table displays, mannequins, room sets (home), bedding (home), window displays and much more.

we have launch often so there is a lot of changes quite fast. So the job is very fast paced and your on your feet pretty much all day. the most thing I've learnt is allowing people to change your work especially if you've worked on a display or a window for a few hour or a few days and you have to change your work promptly. Also allowing other people like management or more experienced staff change things or have there input and not to be offered by it.

You can face a ton of problems as well in this job role. for example, this actually happened on our latest launch (transition ) and will possibly happen again in the future, but not having the stock in time for launch so your not actually able to launch your new season.

But despite having a few downers, I love my new job. Its actually the first time I'm happy to go to work as I enjoy it so much and I love the team that I work with.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page